MamaBlogger365 – Survived Spring Break by Veronica Hosking

Spring break was the week of March 12-16th here. There are 10 weeks left in the school year – the final quarter.  Rachael received her official acceptance letter from AAEC (high school).  Gretchen should be bringing home paperwork for middle school soon.  The week off was pretty uneventful.  We did go see WICKED at the Gammage auditorium on Saturday, March 10th.

Phew! I need to come up with new curses for Frank Lloyd Wright.  I am not a fan of heights.  You know that overwhelming urge to jump? Yes, I had it.  My sister laughed and said I shouldn’t have bought tickets so high up.  Ooo… very funny.  I bought seats we could afford.  I’ve never had a problem sitting in the balcony as long as it wasn’t the front row.  Well, Wright designed Gammage to make it look and feel like every row in the balcony dropped off into nothing.  As my husband said it reminded him of the senate room in the Star Wars movies.  When we first arrived, I didn’t think I would make it through the performance.

Shawn, who knows I’m not a fan of Wright architecture, said, I’ll bet you really love Frank Lloyd Wright now?

Yeah – NOT!  It did give us an excellent view of the stage despite how high up in the theater we were.  And when the house lights dimmed and the performance began, I did remember how to breathe.  Shawn gave me his bandanna to wipe my hands.  It was soaked by the end of the performance.

The rest of the week was pretty boring – dentist appointments for the girls, haircuts and shopping.  We thought we may have a family fun weekend before school started up on Monday again, but Dad put a damper on it.  Or more accurately his kidney did.  Found out he has a kidney stone on St. Patrick’s Day.  He did eat some corned beef and cabbage with us, but he spent the majority of the weekend in bed.  I feel bad for him.  I’ve heard many people compare the pain of a kidney stone to labor pains.  I told him, I know how you feel.  He said, no you don’t.  You had an epidural.  Of course, I’m not stupid.

Now I should find new curses for Frank Lloyd Wright and kidney stones.  ;)  On a happy note – We’re going to Disneyland when school lets out!  I finally arranged our summer vacation.  We will be celebrating the promotions to middle school and high school in style.  :D

Veronica Hosking
http://hosking.gather.com

 

The Museum Of Motherhood is the first and only facility of its kind, celebrating the “her”story of mothers around the world. We need your help — please make your tax-deductible contribution today!Visit the Museum of Motherhood, NOW OPEN in NYC – Tues.-Sun., 10:45-6:30.
Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,475 other followers

