MamaBlogger365 – Summertime by Patti Ashley, Ph.D.

The air is warm and the trees are in full bloom. Summer is here. Now that all my children are grown, I no longer have to arrange for summertime childcare and camps and all of those summer things. Instead I am planning family visits back east and a visit from my daughter and my new grandson here in Colorado.

Summer is my favorite season. I love the feel of the air on my skin, and the long summer nights under that stars listening to music and taking in an outdoor play, or hiking in the Rocky Mountain wildflowers. One of the main reasons I moved to Colorado was the dry air, low humidity, sunshiny days and long starry nights.

My move from Virginia in 1999 to Colorado came with many losses of familiar family and friends, as well as many years of custody battles to have my middle- and high school-aged children here with me. The world today is much different from when my mother was young. She would often tell us the story of her trip to California in the family Ford that took several weeks and many new tires. Today we fly jet planes and Skype to visit with family and friends. A blessing and a curse.

As much as I love the opportunity to live in the most beautiful place on the planet surrounded by friends and nature and many other things that nourish me, I have to still sacrifice moments of holding my grandbabies and kissing my children good-night.

So summertime brings me the opportunities to be together again, if only for a few days or a week. We will all sit under the stars and thank the moon for the love we share no matter how far away we are.

Happy Summer!

About Patti Ashley: Mothering Beyond Image helps women connect more deeply to themselves and others, therefore feeling more authentic, mindful and whole. Please visit www.motheringbeyondimage.com — sign up to be on my mailing list and stay updated on workshop information (next workshop’s coming up in Boulder, CO, on June 15 and 16). Mothers always want to know whether or not they are doing a good job. This workshop will help you know that you ARE!

Thanks, greyerbaby |MorgueFile for the photo!


The Museum Of Motherhood is the first and only facility of its kind, celebrating the “her”story of mothers around the world. We need your help — please make your tax-deductible contribution today! Visit the Museum of Motherhood, NOW OPEN in NYC – Tues.-Sun., 10:45-6:30.
Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,474 other followers

