MamaBlogger365 – Stretching our Potential by Stacey K. Battat, Thin Threads

My exercise instructors teach that when we are having a really fantastic day and we have lots of energy, it’s the time to push our limits and stretch to the next level of our potential.

This is true of motherhood too as well as any relationship we wish to nurture. As much as the world is turning to machines for convenience, we are human.  We cannot be consistently wonderful every moment of our lives, so obviously we cannot expect it of our children.

I teach in my seminars that we have the ability, even when we are most fragile, to connect in unexpected ways to others. as it is our need for others that makes us complete, and more fulfilled .  When I find myself lacking energy or just in a bad mood, I often ‘go through the motions’ of my day, as most of us moms and women do.

I have realized, however, that by breaking from my normal routine to stop and give to others, even if I have to go out of my way, I find new energy. As Dumbledore says, “Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times…if one only remembers to turn on the light.”

Giving to others is my light, and even when I feel tired or frustrated, finding the strength to get up and act ultimately gives me more strength to continue with my day, my week, my months, and even my dreams.

We don’t quite always know what we have to give at the low moments, or why we have to give it, but just by taking action, particularly through random acts of kindness, we turn on light that can reflect back in ways we do not expect.  We can teach our kids to do the same.  My young adult children are creating their own paths to social good, and now they inspire me!

Random acts of kindness can be as small as holding the door for someone and sharing a smile with them, to visiting a homeless or animal shelter to lend a hand.

I recently met a woman who told me her daughter loves to anonymously pay for others behind her in line who only have a few groceries, and we certainly are called to do that when others around us are struggling. Call or visit a sick friend, make a card, or pick flowers for an elderly neighbor.

Though it is easier to reach out with love and friendliness when we are feeling energetic and hopeful, it is when we are feeling downtrodden and frustrated that reaching out can be most self fulfilling. So next time you find yourself just going through the motions of your day, or looking at everything negatively, try taking the time to spread some light – you just might find it spreading right back to you. This is the time to stretch ourselves, our children and our world to new potential!

Inspirational stories can be found at www.thinthreads.com; our collection includes Thin Threads Special Edition – Compassion & Giving.

A portion of the proceeds of Thin Threads of Moms & Grandmas book is donated to The Museum of Motherhood.    Stacey K. Battat is the Director of Inspiration at Kiwi Publishing (www.kiwipublishing.com) and the mom of 2 young adults and a teenager!

The Museum Of Motherhood is the first and only facility of its kind, celebrating the “her”story of mothers around the world. We need your help — please make your tax-deductible contribution today! Visit the Museum of Motherhood, NOW OPEN in NYC – Tues.-Sun., 10:45-6:30.
Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,475 other followers

