MamaBlogger365 – Low-fat Apple Cinnamon Bread with Becca, Gravity Bread

Today’s guest post is shared by Becca from Gravity Bread, where she blogs about love, food, family and ways to encourage language through mealtime:

After apple picking this past weekend, I wanted to make a bread that was moist, full of apples and healthy. This bread is low fat (has no butter or oil), half whole wheat (can easily be all whole wheat) and full of apples. You can cut down on the sugar depending on how sweet you like it. I like to add my favorite jam on top. You can also toast this up and spread some butter or apple butter on top.

I think it’s a great experience to go apple picking for several reasons. The first reason is that it is a great family bonding experience. Another reason is to show your children where apples come from. If you hit apple picking at the right time, which my family and I happened to do this year, the apples are fresh, sweet and delicious.

Before you go apple picking, discuss the process of how apples are grown. You can discuss various types of apples and what the similarities and the differences are. While apple picking, tell your child what type each apple is and how it might taste (such as, Granny Smith vs. Gala). Ask your child, “What is your favorite apple and why?”. I personally have my favorite apple. If you are not near an apple orchard, go online and show your child what apple orchards look like. You also have an apple lesson at your nearest market if you want to. Here is a photo below of my definition of the “perfect apple”.

Kid Friendly Tip: Have your child mix all of the dry and wet ingredients. They can also help choose which apples they want to use for the bread and then help you place the apples in the batter. I use a special chopping gadget that my mother-in-law gave me that has a string that you pull for chopping.  My daughter loves to help me with this step.

Language Concepts: actions, exploring new ingredients, food groups, descriptives, expanding vocabulary (learn all different types of apples), sequencing and answering “wh” questions. Have your child tell you what step they think is next. Discuss what might happen if you forget the sugar  (“What would it taste like without sugar?”).  You can discuss the apple picking experience while making this bread, which would be recalling information. Other concepts that can be discussed are colors, shapes, various textures and tastes.

As a follow up activity, read my recent recommendation for “Apples for Everyone”.

Have fun with this recipe and feel free to modify it according to your taste buds. You can try different toppings for the bread, such as the one that goes with my apple coffee cake.

Ingredients:

1 cup of all purpose flour

1 cup of whole wheat flour

3/4 cup of light brown sugar

2 teaspoons of baking powder

1/2 teaspoon of baking soda

1 teaspoon of salt

1 cup of buttermilk

1/4 cup of cinnamon applesauce

2 eggs

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon of ground spice

dash of nutmeg

3 small apples, cut up and finely chopped

Topping:

2 teaspoons of unsalted butter

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

2 tablespoons of sugar

Preparation:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2. Grease 9 x 5 loaf pan.

3. Mix dry ingredients in one bowl and whisk (flour through salt).

4. Mix wet ingredients in a separate bowl (applesauce through nutmeg).

5. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients. Fold in apples.

6. Pour batter into loaf pan. In a separate bowl, make topping and sprinkle and swirl on top.

7. Bake for 50 minutes or until done. Enjoy!

About Becca and Gravity Bread:

Having my own personal struggles during mealtime with my two young children, I decided to venture on a new project to help my children and myself make mealtime more fun and educational. As a speech language pathologist, I felt the need to help other parents struggling with the same issues. As a working mom, I found it very challenging to cook, watch my children, keep them focused on their food and have a relaxing meal. Growing up, I had dinner every night with my family. Today’s busy families don’t often eat together. The inherent design of Gravitybread helps create more valuable mealtimes for families. Research indicates that children who eat together with their families perform better in school, tend to be thinner, are healthier and have better communication skills. It gives families the opportunities to talk and have longer conversations. It also gives the opportunity to explore new foods and model appropriate behaviors, such as how to eat specific foods and how to sit during mealtime.

I found that cooking and learning about food can be such a useful, functional and language-enhancing experience. Being a “foodie” myself, I wanted to pass on this knowledge to my children so that they can enjoy, respect and love food the way that I do.

This piece originally appeared on GravityBread.com; reprinted with Becca’s kind permission.

Comments
3 Responses to “MamaBlogger365 – Low-fat Apple Cinnamon Bread with Becca, Gravity Bread”
  1. Joy Rose says:

    I use granny smith, green apples to make juice (in my juicer), but I also love gala and beautiful small crunchy red/golds!

  2. Moe says:

    The next time you are shopping for food, choose whole wheat bread to make your sandwiches. Whole wheat is less fattening than white bread and can serve as a great alternative in your diet program. Choosing this bread will help you to shed pounds, while maintaining the taste of your meals. However, I’m going to try making this in my air fryer, it took some experimentation to get it edible, but it can be done!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] MamaBlogger365 – Low-fat Apple Cinnamon Bread with Becca, Gravity Bread (mamazina.wordpress.com) [...]



Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,474 other followers

