MamaBlogger365 – GravityBread’s Becca presents Low Fat Carrot Bread

Today’s guest post is shared by Becca from Gravity Bread, where she blogs about love, food, family and ways to encourage language through mealtime:

GravityBread_lowfatcarrotbreadWho knew that carrots and dried plums (a.k.a. prunes) can go so well together? I accidentally ordered four packages of carrots instead of one when grocery shopping online. I enjoy steaming my carrots so I have an easy vegetable to give my kids with their meal or eat myself for a snack.

After both myself and my kids went overboard on the carrots, I decided to try to make this carrot bread with my leftover steamed carrots. The  bread was moist, sweet and filling. I considerate it ideal for a healthy breakfast or snack. It has no oil or butter which makes it super healthy. The bread is full of vegetables and fruit (has loads of pureed carrots, applesauce and diced prunes). The diced plums taste very similar to raisins so either would work. Diced plums have more fiber and less sugar so they would be a better choice. The bread is delicious warmed with some fig jam on top.

Kid Friendly Tips: Have your child help “pulse” the carrots in the food processor and stop depending on how you like the texture of your bread. Have your child help measure the ingredients and discuss what ingredients make the bread healthy and good for your body. Your child can help mix and “fold” in the diced plums. Work on food groups by having your child categorize the ingredients into the appropriate food groups. Discuss various cooking terminology such as “steam” and “bake” and discuss the various textures of the ingredients.

Carryover Book: The Carrot Seed by Ruth Krauss

Enjoy my recipe below:

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons of baking powder
1 teaspoon of baking soda
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon of all spice
dash of nutmeg

1 cup of light brown sugar
1 cup of pulsed steamed carrot
2/3 cup of cinnamon applesauce
2 eggs
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1/2 cup of diced plums or raisins

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix flour through nutmeg in a bowl with a whisk.
  2. In another bowl mix sugar through extract with a whisk.
  3. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients until moistened.
  4. Fold in diced plums. Add batter to greased loaf pan (8 x 4 x 3 inch pan). Bake for about 45 minutes or until done.
  5. Serve warm with fresh jam on top. Yum!

=

About Becca and Gravity Bread:

Having my own personal struggles during mealtime with my two young children, I decided to venture on a new project to help my children and myself make mealtime more fun and educational. As a speech language pathologist, I felt the need to help other parents struggling with the same issues. As a working mom, I found it very challenging to cook, watch my children, keep them focused on their food and have a relaxing meal. Growing up, I had dinner every night with my family. Today’s busy families don’t often eat together. The inherent design of Gravitybread helps create more valuable mealtimes for families. Research indicates that children who eat together with their families perform better in school, tend to be thinner, are healthier and have better communication skills. It gives families the opportunities to talk and have longer conversations. It also gives the opportunity to explore new foods and model appropriate behaviors, such as how to eat specific foods and how to sit during mealtime.

I found that cooking and learning about food can be such a useful, functional and language-enhancing experience. Being a “foodie” myself, I wanted to pass on this knowledge to my children so that they can enjoy, respect and love food the way that I do.

This piece originally appeared on GravityBread.com; reprinted with Becca’s kind permission.

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,474 other followers

