MamaBlogger365 – Thank You Mom (Feeling Under-appreciated as a Parent) by Kate Fineske

This post is dedicated to every parent out there who at one time or another has felt under-appreciated… THANK YOU.
-1
“Momma, why didn’t you put shorts on me today!?” demands my 6-year old son as we drove my older daughter to her evening soccer practice during an unseasonably warm fall day.

It had been a ridiculously long and draining day for me and I was tempted to say back to him:
PICK OUT YOUR OWN CLOTHES!

But I didn’t.

Instead I responded with, “Honey, it was only 48 degrees this morning when you left the house for school AND it’s the end of October IN Ohio… we don’t wear shorts to school now.”

Parenting can be challenging for me during those long days when I feel underappreciated. Sometimes I would give nearly anything to hear from my childrens’ mouths (really anyone’s mouth) two simple words:

Thank. You.

As my son’s somewhat irritating clothing complaint sank in further (highlighting just another reason my day had been so long and draining), I began to envision all the things he could have said instead…

~

Dear Mom,

Thank you… for making sure I woke up in time for school.

Thank you for helping me with my homework, driving me to all my activities and staying on top of our family’s busy schedule.

Thank you for scheduling my doctors’ appointments, attending school conferences, and doing a trillion loads of laundry throughout the week.

Thank you mom, for…

Going grocery shopping for our meals.
(When what you really wished to be doing was getting a workout in.)

OR

Watching the Disney Channel with me.
(When you would probably much prefer to be watching the Today Show.)

OR

Playing football, kick ball and soccer with me outside in the front yard.
(When it might have been nice to sit with your feet up after a long day of work.)

Thank you SO MUCH for taking me to the park, for reading to me at night and for letting me sleep in your room during that one – ok, those many! – stormy nights.

Thank you especially for being there for me when I’m sick, when I’m sad, or when I’m in trouble. Thank you for:

  • Giving me hugs when I want them (and even sometimes when I think I don’t)
  • Tucking me in at night (even though I usually don’t want to go to bed)
  • Your endless worries, excessive cheerleading, and part-time duties as our household meal maker.

Thank you mom for loving me, even when you’ve had a long day.

A long day, when what you could really use is some thanks and smiles instead of the complaints and demands of a cranky (albeit cute) 6-year-old who can’t understand why you didn’t think to dress him in shorts during October…

“MOM!”

From the back of the car a little voice interrupts my silent, imaginary thank you note.

“MOM!” the voice whines again, “Can I change into shorts when I get home?”

Deep down I know that I am loved and appreciated – with or without any thank you notes. I sigh, and then smile remembering that tomorrow I’ll be surrounded by the support of my Mothers’ Center friends.

I think I’ll make sure to tell them Thank YOU.

Leave a Comment: What would your family’s thank you note to you look like? Does the support of other moms help you feel more appreciated on the long, draining days when you could use a simple “Thank You Mom?”

=

This post has been contributed on behalf of The National Association of Mothers Centers, whose mission is to create a community of women, who through mutual support and public advocacy, explore, enrich and value the maternal experience.

The post author, Kate Fineske, currently is a staff member with the National Association of Mothers’ Centers where she maintains and provides the content to the Mothers Central Blog – the Parenting Blog of the NAMC. She is also responsible for helping the NAMC work to build stronger connections and support with the local Mothers’ Center Chapters nationally.

Kate is a longtime member of the National Association of Mothers’ Centers through her local chapter of the Mothers’ Center of Greater Toledo in Ohio. She and her husband are busy raising 3 children ages 1-8. Kate’s professional background is as a graphic designer in the creative and education industry. Since 2005, she has been using her professional skills by actively volunteering with the Mothers’ Center of Greater Toledo in various leadership positions. She also blogs personally at http://www.onthegomomma.net.

You can connect with Kate via Twitter (@katefineske) and/or also connect with the NAMC via twitter (@MothersCenters) or Facebook.

The Museum Of Motherhood is the first and only facility of its kind, celebrating the “her”story of mothers around the world. We need your help — please make your tax-deductible contribution today! Visit the Museum of Motherhood, NOW OPEN in NYC – visit MOMmuseum.org for hours, directions and today’s schedule of events.
Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,474 other followers

