Who I Am

A few days ago, I joked to my friends that without me, my family would be naked, hungry, late and lost (in the physical sense). The more I thought about it, the more I realized it was true.

Even though, my husband and I try hard to split the workload fairly, we each play to our strengths and it turns out that my strengths are feeding, clothing, time management (including the poking and prodding of slow pokes) and printing directions.

If you are wondering what strengths my husband has, they involve automotive maintenance and the ability to help with algebra homework (which is worth more then a guy who can sort whites/darks).

Honestly, when I was younger I never dreamed that I would some day be responsible for getting a bunch of children fed, clothed and to school on time, but somewhere along the way I ended up doing just that and you know what? I love it.

Does it drive me crazy sometimes? Yes! Are there days when I feel under-appreciated and down right mutinous? Yes. Do I get up and do it all again the next day? Yep.

Why? Well, the simple answer is, I like it.

It is part of who I am. While motherhood doesn’t totally define me – I do have a career and hobbies – it sure is a big part of who I am and I am proud of my ability to take care of my family.

Jennifer Flaten

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
