I’m Rockin’ But It’s Not What I Was Hoping For

People always tell me ‘I rock’ but this isn’t what I had in mind.

Ducking, Driving, Turning N-G

Walking (OK), computer, (OK), doing two things at once ie: walking and eating = vomiting. I’m trying to figure out what’s wrong with me?

Oct. 20- 23 an eye twitch started while working overtime at my computer.

Wed. Oct 26th, Onset of dizzy symptoms during long preparations for M.O.M. fundraiser. Worked hard but energy was excellent. I pushed through marveling at my body.

Then some odd chest compression pains:

Ear is very stuffy feeling. Extremely dizzy with a drunken look when walking.

Wed. Nov 3rd did hearing test. Some diminished hearing in right ear. (my hearing is usually impeccable)

Started prednisone and Zafrin on Thursday Nov. 4th

Walking better. Driving impossible.

In 1861, the French physician Prosper Meniere described a condition which now bears his name. Meniere’s disease is a disorder of the inner ear which causes episodes of vertigo, ringing in the ears (tinnitus), a feeling of fullness or pressure in the ear, and fluctuating hearing loss.

Meniere’s generally involves severe vertigo (spinning), imbalance and nausea. There is a large amount of variability in the duration of symptoms. Some people experience brief “shocks”, and others have constant unsteadiness.

Studies have shown that Meniere’s disease affects about 200 out of 100,000 people (or in other words, 2/1000). This is roughly the same prevalence as multiple sclerosis (MS). The majority of people with Meniere’s disease are over 40 years of age, with equal distribution between males and females.

immune disease may contribute to a substantial percentage of Meniere’s disease. Ménière’s disease can often have a significant impact on a person’s day-to-day activities. The condition can sometimes have an adverse affect on work and family life. For example:

  • you may need to change your job if it previously involved using ladders, scaffolding, or operating machinery
  • you may need to stop driving, which could limit your social contact
  • the hearing loss can make it difficult to interact with others, both in the workplace and at home
  • you may find it difficult to sleep as a result of the tinnitus, which can leave you feeling tired and stressed

Oh well, for those of you who know me, I’m a survivor, and the jury’s still out on whether this is really what I’ve got. But, my attitude is pretty chipper. This isn’t chemo. (Been through that) This isn’t renal failure (Been through that). This isn’t a death sentence. I’m wobbly right now, but I’m strong and my family is too. We’ve been through a lot together. Stay with me. I’m alive, grateful and busting with life. That’s the truth for real survivors- we carry the secret knowledge of just how precious every day is.

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
