MamaBlogger365 – A Mother in Service by Shira Adler, Diva Mama

Very often, especially lately, most of my writing has concerned the always unpredictable, and too often unpleasant, day in and day out episodes of my kids’ lives. Because I am first and foremost a mom, this is the natural order of things.

But I am also a healer, a singer, and more often than not a Life-Cycle Officiant. Life-Cycle Officiant can mean many things but in this instance I am referring to my role as a Cantor. This past Saturday eve I presided over a Bar Mitzvah and of the hundreds I have guided, this one I won’t soon forget.

Above and beyond my usual heart connection and ability to hold the space for all present, I had to summon all of my mama bear energy as I held an even greater space for this very special Bar Mitzvah boy, who had some time ago lost his father.

There we were, in the middle of the service — he had just delivered his speech and I stepped forward to share a song I had selected just for him, just for this moment.

The song is called Grace and though I admit I do tend to modify lyrics from time to time in order to make them more appropriate for the setting, in this case the modifications were subtle. The song, originally recorded by Saving Jane, wholly represented the mood, timbre, and experience of this child, and yes, for me as well.

No sooner had I begun singing the first line: “I don’t want to see anything… I don’t want to be lost again…” than the Bar Mitzvah boy’s emotion came flooding through. Within a minute all two hundred people in the ballroom were crying with and for him.

So I did the best that I could and my maternal instincts kicked in. I rubbed his back, encouraged him to breathe and held his hand through the rest of the song. His mother joined us on the stage to deliver her spiritual charge all the while holding her baby who try as he might, couldn’t stop the tears from flowing.

There we were, his mom and his cantor energetically, physically and spiritually supporting this brave and beautiful soul.

For all of us in professions that demand our impeccability, integrity, and our talent, we should never stray too far from the core of who we are. We can never be so deep in the weeds that we forget that our natural training as mothers can serve us and those around us in ways that are immeasurable.

To me, living a life of service is a natural extension to living my life as a mom. Never was that more apparent than center stage last night. In the most intimate and yet public of moments, I became, in the truest sense of the word, a mother, and somehow that was all we needed to get through.

BIO: By day Shira Adler is a cantor, spiritual vocalist, certified pastlife regressionist, voice-over artist, producer, performer, writer/blogger and mompreneur and by night… well, she is actually the same person at night though she does admit to wearing fuzzy socks when no one can see her and hiding a secret stash of Mallomars somewhere near her writing desk for those late night pick-me-ups. In, around, and between her various work activities, she is raising two beyond-the-spectrum children as a single mom (though lovingly gives a shout out to her best friend, editor and soulmate whom she considers the bees knees). Is it any wonder her website’s tag line is One Voice Many Paths? Seriously, look up the definition of a multi-tasking Mama and you will find her picture there. But when it comes to living a life of connection, faith and consciousness Shira is the gal to call — or if you’re fresh out of Mallomars — she’s always happy to give you one. For more information visit: ShiraAdler.com, read her blog at Diva-Mama.com; Social: Twitter (1DivaMama), Facebook (DivaMama1), Tumblr (not really sure, but the name is cute) and LinkedIn (because doesn’t everyone?).

MamaBlogger365 needs you! Tell us how you’re re-framing motherhood and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011!

Photo credit, Carlson, MorgueFile
Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
