MamaBlogger365 – Hardest Lessons, Greatest Growth – The Sequel by Shira Adler, Diva Mama

We are all spiritual beings on a human journey. As my dear sister goddess, Ariane de Bonvoisin reminded me, being spiritually protected doesn’t mean you are able to avoid difficult situations. True spiritual protection is being protected from situations, people, and experiences that would prevent you from remaining on your true path.

Throughout the last decade or more I have manifested many difficult life experiences worthy of a ten-tissue Hallmark movie. This week I added a few fresh episodes to my ever-unfolding and ever-challenged life script.

I could start by writing about my newest, unanticipated career transition or chronicle more of the trials and tribulations about my son’s ongoing medication odyssey, but there is time for that, just not now.

Instead, I will say simply that my current deepest level of anguish comes from having to watch my ten-year-old daughter struggle against old demons resurrected through no fault of her own. With doubt, guilt, and recrimination coursing through my every pore, I have to remember the Universe never gives us anything we can’t handle… though I’m beginning to wonder.

If I am to walk my walk and hold to my myriad belief systems (think past life regression), I have to admit my job now is not to worry about paying bills and covering my family’s basic necessities. These concerns are very real, and terrifying for me at the moment, but my survival has always been based on holding a more expansive view.

So I make a conscious choice to stay in flow and in trust.

To remain on my true soul’s path I must be brave enough to hold a space for what the current painful experiences are meant to teach me knowing that through the greatest struggle will come profound growth and inspiration.

And to you I offer you encouragement and energetic support to do the same. We all possess the power within to survive anything. We can create new ways of being and enjoy deeper connection to our selves, our families and our communities. We can, in fact, spiritually, physically and emotionally thrive in the face of tremendous tumult and hardship. It just isn’t something that feels good when you’re in the midst of it.

I’m also reminded that writing from the heart isn’t easy to do when the heart is broken. But if my life has taught me anything, it’s that joy usually follows sorrow. Once we’ve collected the fragments and shards they can be reformed, creating something even more beautiful. Heartbreak is to healing as yin is to yang. You pay a high price to accept this duality, but I am here to remind us that from the deepest pain comes the greatest growth.

As the Beatles closed the glorious Abbey Road medley they wrote: “In the end the love you take is equal to the love you make.”

True dat.

BIO: By day Shira Adler is a cantor, spiritual vocalist, certified pastlife regressionist, voice-over artist, producer, performer, writer/blogger and mompreneur and by night… well, she is actually the same person at night though she does admit to wearing fuzzy socks when no one can see her and hiding a secret stash of Mallomars somewhere near her writing desk for those late night pick-me-ups. In, around, and between her various work activities, she is raising two beyond-the-spectrum children as a single mom (though lovingly gives a shout out to her best friend, editor and soulmate whom she considers the bees knees). Is it any wonder her website’s tag line is One Voice Many Paths? Seriously, look up the definition of a multi-tasking Mama and you will find her picture there. But when it comes to living a life of connection, faith and consciousness Shira is the gal to call — or if you’re fresh out of Mallomars — she’s always happy to give you one. For more information visit: ShiraAdler.com, read her blog at Diva-Mama.com; Social: Twitter (1DivaMama), Facebook (DivaMama1), Tumblr (not really sure, but the name is cute) and LinkedIn (because doesn’t everyone?).

MamaBlogger365 needs you! Tell us how you’re re-framing motherhood and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011!

Illustration: Girl with flower in flowerpot (Jessie Wilcox Smith), courtesy Liam’s Pictures From Old Books; thanks, Liam!

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
