MamaBlogger365 – Re-framing Motherhood Today by Amy Andrews

It’s one thing to think intellectually about the concept of motherhood and consider how today’s moms are re-framing the institution in ways that may differ significantly from how our own mothers and grandmothers raised their children.

It’s another thing to realize that I have to re-frame motherhood. For myself. For real.

My daughter is rushing head-long into adolescence at breakneck speed and it’s dawned on my that my mothering style needs to adapt if we’re going to make it through the teenage years with both of us having our sanity intact.

I know we’ll get through it and I also know that a million moms have already done this and a million other moms are in the same boat; that doesn’t change the fact that I feel like we’re on shaky ground from the close relationship we used to have and I pray that I know when to be firm and when to be flexible.

It pains me that the same little girl who used to love nothing more than spending time with Mommy now turns up her nose at just about every word that comes out of my mouth. But every now and again, we have a real conversation, and I see the child I remember… and tread carefully, hoping not to spook her like a deer spotted in the woods.

And so it goes. Re-framing motherhood. It’s not just a big-picture concept anymore. And as long as we’re able to keep having those real conversations, as rare as diamonds and valued more highly, I think (hope!) we’ll make it.

Bio: Amy Brozio-Andrews thinks motherhood is pretty much the best gig ever.

Support MamaBlogger365 and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011!

Bicycle Tandem by Peter Griffin

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
