MamaBlogger365 – High Vibe -1, Homophobes – 0 by Shira Adler, Diva Mama

In high school I had a teacher who was a homophobe, albeit a nice one. I hadn’t been aware of this until one day during my senior year civics class when we were engaged in a model congress session. My teacher had proposed anti-gay legislation. I did what any self-respecting liberal young woman would do in that situation. I challenged his way of thinking, pointed out the statistics that proved gay couples who adopted or gave birth to children were more likely to raise heterosexuals and then asked him, did he know any children who were actually raised by a gay couple?

He replied, no.

“Actually, you’re looking at one. My mother is a lesbian and I have trouble with anyone who tells my mom who she can love and how she is allowed to live her life and raise her children.”

By noon my younger sister, a sophomore, heard about my bold statement and honestly, was ready to kill me for outing our mother and ruining whatever social normalcy she or I would ever have in that high school again. Gee, I hadn’t thought about that in the heat of the moment.

Thankfully, the repercussions weren’t nearly as bad as we thought they would be, and in fact, some people thought I was pretty cool for being that brave. But more importantly, my mother thought the whole experience was wonderful and actually, kind of funny. On that day, I earned her pride and respect for standing up for what I believe in and thus began my career as a budding advocate.

This weekend, twenty-four years later, I am jumping up and down on my well-worn soapbox in honor of the NY State Senate passing Gov. Cuomo’s legislation legalizing gay marriage!

It’s been a long time coming and for all of us who believe personal freedom and self-expression is the right of everyone, this is a victory. But more than that, it is a victory of light, love and the higher vibration most of us covet so dearly. So I say – YAY! As the sixth state to ratify gay marriage and the largest to do so, this was a good weekend for the higher vibe and a proud moment for all New Yorkers!

PS – Since I am also an Interfaith Minister, I say bring it on!  If you know someone who is seeking a registered NY officiant, I’m here to serve!

BIO: By day Shira Adler is a cantor, spiritual vocalist, certified pastlife regressionist, voice-over artist, producer, performer, writer/blogger and mompreneur and by night… well, she is actually the same person at night though she does admit to wearing fuzzy socks when no one can see her and hiding a secret stash of Mallomars somewhere near her writing desk for those late night pick-me-ups. In, around, and between her various work activities, she is raising two beyond-the-spectrum children as a single mom (though lovingly gives a shout out to her best friend, editor and soulmate whom she considers the bees knees). Is it any wonder her website’s tag line is One Voice Many Paths? Seriously, look up the definition of a multi-tasking Mama and you will find her picture there. But when it comes to living a life of connection, faith and consciousness Shira is the gal to call — or if you’re fresh out of Mallomars — she’s always happy to give you one. For more information visit: ShiraAdler.com, read her blog at Diva-Mama.com; Social: Twitter (1DivaMama), Facebook (DivaMama1), Tumblr (not really sure, but the name is cute) and LinkedIn (because doesn’t everyone?).

MamaBlogger365 needs you! Tell us how you’re re-framing motherhood and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011!

Photo credit: Mary R. Vogt | MorgueFile

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
