MamaBlogger365 – Mothering Beyond Image: Living in the Shadow of the Too-Good Mother by Patti Ashley, Ph.D.

Please meet Patti Ashley, one of our new monthly contributors to our MamaBlogger365 project! Read on to find out more about Patti Ashley and her work, and watch for her upcoming blog pieces!

Times have changed quite a bit since my first child was born, but the questions remain the same. Am I a good mother? Am I doing the best I can for my child? How do I find the right answers to so many of my parenting questions? Am I going to ruin my child by my choices? These are only a few questions that run through the minds of many mothers today and everyday.

After thirty years of being a mother and working with mothers in various settings, I have written a book, entitled Mothering Beyond Image: Living in the Shadow of the Too-Good Mother, which attempts to dispel the myth of being a perfect parent and sheds light on aspects of mothering that have not been discussed quite this way before. Mothering Beyond Image is a book that weaves real stories and common themes into archetypal psychology and the rapidly changing roles of women, creating the fabric of a new parenting paradigm.

Mothering Beyond Image helps women connect more deeply to themselves and others, therefore feeling more authentic, mindful and whole. I will be presenting the five main themes from the soon-to-be-released book in a weekend workshop in Boulder, Colorado on July 8 & 9, 2011. For more information, or to register for the weekend, please visit www.motheringbeyondimage.com/workshops. I also will be offering this workshop again on October 7 & 8, 2011 in Boulder, Colorado and March 9 & 10, 2012 in Scottsdale, Arizona. Please sign up to be on my mailing list to stay updated on workshop information. Mothers always want to know whether or not they are doing a good job. This workshop will help you know that you ARE!

MamaBlogger365 needs you! Tell us how you’re re-framing motherhood and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011!

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
