MamaBlogger365 – Real Moms Cry, Too by Dorothy Sue Laqua

I could not wait to hear “MOM” for the very first time. I remember watching my belly grow. I remember talking to it, telling the child inside that I would be the best mom. I would never get angry; I would never hit him or scream at him. We would play and I would teach him all about life. I would never put him in an abusive situation. But the biggest promise I made him is that no matter what other people thought of him, no matter who teased him, he would always have a home and a place where he was loved.

It is 32 years later now and most of my promises went up in smoke. The only one I kept was that no matter where he went or what happened he would always have a home where he was loved. Yes, I spanked him when he was little right after he had run out into traffic. Yes, I yelled and got angry when he turned 16 and wanted to drive 130 miles because he missed his friends. And yes, as hard as I tried, I too found myself and my children in a very bad domestic abuse situation.

My dreams of being a perfect mom vanished within days of his birth because real moms are not perfect, we are people. A lesson taught to me that it took 30 years to grasp and believe. Real moms cry, too.

BIO: About Dorothy Sue Laqua: “I am a 51-year-old woman who is currently attending Minnesota State – Mankato and will be receiving my B.S. in Gender and Women Studies. I have worked in the human services field all of my life with Developmentally Delayed and Mentally Ill clientele. I earn a master’s degree in my field of study with an emphasis on Ethnic Studies, and would like to work in a reentry program for women who have been incarcerated. I believe these women are the most marginalized in our society, and understand that they are stuck in a revolving door with no way out of poverty. Many of them are mothers who have little chance of rejoining their family and making it safe. I know that being a mother and a feminist can sometimes be at separate ends of the spectrum as we try to protect our daughters and in the same breath give them the freedoms of choice and equality. I have 4 children, and two step-children. I fostered two grandchildren and helped raise three young multi-cultural women. I also have seven grandchildren to complete my family. My husband and I live in a small agricultural community and spend a great deal of time volunteering by helping older persons or persons with disabilities.

I have just opened up a new blog at http://breakingthesilence-sue.blogspot.com.”

Support MamaBlogger365 and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011! Your tax-deductible donation in ANY amount will help us make our September POP-UP exhibit in NYC a permanent reality – visit our Members page to learn more.

Photo credit: Mother And Baby by Anna Cervova

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
