MamaBlogger365 – Dramatic and Magnificent by Jennifer Flaten

Even though I am a writer, I could never could get in the habit of keeping a journal.

As a kid, I had the standard issue diary with the little lock. More often than not, I lost the key or the journal or simply decided I had nothing interesting to write about.

As I grew into an adult, every once in awhile, lured by the gorgeous covers of the blank journals, I would buy one and promise myself I would start writing in it.

For the first couple of days I would jot things down but soon it was longer and longer between entries.

I think at the time I felt self-conscious writing about what I perceived as a very dull life. I thought, if I don’t have anything momentous or dramatic, what is the point of writing?

For years, all those beautiful journals lay empty in drawers. Then I discovered I was pregnant with twins.

This, I thought, is something worth journaling. I started writing in my journal — faithfully after every appointment, and even though I had the least dramatic twin pregnancy ever, I still wrote.

After my girls were born, I gave up on journaling again. While the girls’ baby book is mostly blank (and don’t get me started on my poor son who is grossly underrepresented in words and pictures) I didn’t give up writing completely.

No, wrote about the girls’ progress in emails to friends and family. Through these notes, I learned how much I enjoyed writing.

I wrote about milestones big and small and I wrote about funny or maddening things they said and did. Never once did I question whether it was “worthy” of being written.

Some days, I still find myself, as a writer, held back by the feeling that what I have to say isn’t dramatic or magnificent enough, that I shouldn’t bother writing that story. When that happens I try and even sometimes succeed in convincing myself to write the story down and not worry about whether it is “worthy”.

Bio: Jennifer Flaten is a Wisconsin-based writer with three small children who understands the delicate balance between home and work. She knows having a healthy, happy family is a priority, and with that in mind, she has a special interest in health, family and technology. Her works have been published in the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel and at various online journals.

Support MamaBlogger365 and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011! Your tax-deductible donation in ANY amount will help us make our September POP-UP exhibit in NYC a permanent reality – visit our Members page to learn more.

Photo credit: Notepad by Anna Cervova

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
