MamaBlogger365: Is Balance Really a Myth? by Kim Jennings

I wonder. It’s a hot topic, maybe even a bit overdone. Seems to me that balance should be more about figuring out the life you want, and then working towards that, all while spending time with the people you care about most.

So, after months (ok, years) of saying I’m going to work on it, I’m taking action.

Sure, I have a picture in my mind of what life can be like. The vision includes being the parent who does the after school pickup. And helping with homework. And maybe even cooking dinner. And still working.

As for balance in the home, I believe in equality, mutual respect, and division of labor when it’s the sensible thing to do.

My husband was laid off three years ago now, and during that time he’s been an amazing stay-at-home dad, owning all the “around-the-house” kinds of things like laundry, shopping, cooking dinner, school drop-off and pick-up, homework, doctors appointments, sick days…the list goes on. All this while scouring employment listings, working on his independent film side projects, and trying to figure out how to break into the film industry in New England. Not easy stuff in general, let alone in this economy. And he’s still getting way more sleep than me. 😉

I’ve been the full-time career-ambitious yet side-passion-dream pursuing mom, out of the house by 6am, home by 6pm if I’m lucky, playing music out and about one to three nights a week when I can. And, doing my best to focus on true quality time when at home.

I am a firm believer in having what you want. This is very, very different from “having it all.”

I see the “balance” question as more of a pendulum, where right now the pendulum has swung a bit too far in one direction. I figured that ramping up my music could be timed with my DH getting his dream job. Well I’ve certainly ramped up, but without cutting back anywhere else. And… it’s taken longer than I thought for DH to have any job leads. So now, with work on the horizon for my DH, I’ve got to swing the pendulum back a bit in the other direction.

I can see it coming, which is a heck of a lot better than how I’ve done in the past. I have choices to make. I don’t even know what they are yet. I don’t want to stop working. I don’t want to give up everything I have worked for. I just want to change up the mix of where my time is going.

And I am announcing my intention to… whoever will listen. It’s the journey, as they say. As long as the pendulum keeps moving…

Bio: Sitting still has never been easy for acoustic/indie/folk singer-songwriter Kim Jennings. A singer, piano and guitar player for years, the songwriting bug only bit her in 2007. Not three years later, Kim released her debut CD “My Own True North,” co-founded the indie record label “Birch Beer Records” with fellow singer-songwriter Dan Cloutier, and launched the We Support Local Music blog along with the “I Support Local Music in Massachusetts” Facebook page.

Named to Metronome Magazine’s Top 20 Hit List for 2010, and voted Best Female Vocalist in the 2010 Worcester Music Awards, Jennings keeps a busy schedule, performing as often as she can and running her record label. Not bad, considering that in her “free time” she’s also a full-time working soccer mom.

Keep up with Kim Jennings and her musical projects at www.kimjenningsmusic.com, www.birchbeerrecords.com, and www.we-support-local-music.com.

Support MamaBlogger365 and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011! Your tax-deductible donation in ANY amount will help us make our September POP-UP exhibit in NYC a permanent reality – visit our Members page to learn more.

Photo credit: hotblack

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
