MamaBlogger365 – Who Loves Camp?! by Shira Adler, Diva Mama

After several hours of using multi-color Sharpies to hand-label 28 pairs of socks, 20 pairs of shorts, 24 shirts, 8 bathing suits, sunglasses and sweatshirts plus a slew of travel size toothpaste, toothbrushes and toys, itʼs no wonder Iʼm sitting here, bleary eyed at almost 1 a.m. But now that the over-sized duffles are packed, thankfully, I can stop for a few minutes and put my feet up (or at least write this blog, something I always enjoy).

The annual summer rite of passage is upon us and itʼs amazing to me that no matter where any of us are we can still remember to set an intention to make it happen, no matter what “it” looks like.

My kids are going to camp and whatever I need to do to make that happen is what I am willing to do. That means Iʼm working weekends at family camp to help pay for their summer fun. By sacrificing part of my precious down time, I am putting smiles on my kids faces and earning major Mama points.

Affording my children this opportunity is precious beyond rubies. Going to summer camp allows them to be in the game; to be kids, to be on their own, to monitor their own decisions and choices, to build character, to make new friends and to have the ups and down we all hope and need to experience in life (free from the shadow of their slightly overprotective mother). And whatever happens, that’s all I can ask for. The real significance of camp is to teach them the value of just showing up – having fun – being present in their own experience. In this way, they mirror an opportunity for me to just show up and be happy with whatever my situation is…

And okay, it doesnʼt hurt that I will have just over three weeks to myself. Yay for altruism but I cannot forget the “Diva” part of my nickname. And thereʼs nothing wrong with putting a smile on my face, too.

BIO: By day Shira Adler is a cantor, spiritual vocalist, certified pastlife regressionist, voice-over artist, producer, performer, writer/blogger and mompreneur and by night… well, she is actually the same person at night though she does admit to wearing fuzzy socks when no one can see her and hiding a secret stash of Mallomars somewhere near her writing desk for those late night pick-me-ups. In, around, and between her various work activities, she is raising two beyond-the-spectrum children as a single mom (though lovingly gives a shout out to her best friend, editor and soulmate whom she considers the bees knees). Is it any wonder her website’s tag line is One Voice Many Paths? Seriously, look up the definition of a multi-tasking Mama and you will find her picture there. But when it comes to living a life of connection, faith and consciousness Shira is the gal to call — or if you’re fresh out of Mallomars — she’s always happy to give you one. For more information visit: ShiraAdler.com, read her blog at Diva-Mama.com; Social: Twitter (1DivaMama), Facebook (DivaMama1), Tumblr (not really sure, but the name is cute) and LinkedIn (because doesn’t everyone?).

Support MamaBlogger365 and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011! Your tax-deductible donation in ANY amount will help us make our September POP-UP exhibit in NYC a permanent reality – visit our Members page to learn more.

Photo credit: Camp Fire by Jere VanLoan

Comments
One Response to “MamaBlogger365 – Who Loves Camp?! by Shira Adler, Diva Mama”
  1. vhosking says:

    Three weeks! Wow my girl only went to camp for one week. And I keep telling her, her first born child will belong to the girl scouts with the amount of paperwork to be signed just for a week away from mom and dad.

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
