MamaBlogger365 – Girls Night In by Shira Adler, Diva Mama

Heaven, Shangri-La, Nirvana. The kids have been at sleep away camp for six days, four hours and thirteen minutes – but who’s counting? Whatever name we put to our own personal Utopia, I can tell you simply mine looks like a place where I am well rested, eating calorie-free chocolate surrounded by smiling angels, sipping a glass of organic, sulfite-free red wine.

Usually this scenario is the stuff dreams are made of. In my real life, my daydreams are rudely jarred by the exasperated bellows of one or both of my children, the cell phone’s incessant interruptions, or just my restless mind bouncing through the litany of tasks and deadlines that I must address.

The sharp contrast of my earth-plane reality is a strong buzz kill to any prolonged state of fantasy I might otherwise enjoy.

Fortunately, this weekend was the first that I have had in a full year to shake the shackles of Mommydom. It feels so unnatural to me to be kid-free and footloose! But the anomaly this kind of opportunity affords me is exactly why I threw my 2nd Annual Goddess party.

I drink rarely, sleep-in, never and relax – infrequently. So this soiree with my goddess-y girlfriends is more than a social event, it is the bastion of hope for me and for my attendees that despite whatever else is going on in our lives we need; we deserve to let go, get loose and partay!

I know how hard it is to set a private, non-family oriented event so I can see where some of my girlfriends were coming from when they either didn’t respond or cancelled due to various commitments that surfaced last minute. But the yin to that yang are those who made the effort and even braved the tornado warning (yes, really) to take the “me” time they so richly deserved! And for those of us die-hards who attended, it was well worth it.

The vibe was high, i-Tunes mix eclectic, girl talk fantastic and nosh decadent! Sometimes even I need to walk my walk and take a nurturing inner-Diva break! My next goal? Do this more than once a year and oh yes, find a way to make chocolate calories not count!

BIO: By day Shira Adler is a cantor, spiritual vocalist, certified pastlife regressionist, voice-over artist, producer, performer, writer/blogger and mompreneur and by night… well, she is actually the same person at night though she does admit to wearing fuzzy socks when no one can see her and hiding a secret stash of Mallomars somewhere near her writing desk for those late night pick-me-ups. In, around, and between her various work activities, she is raising two beyond-the-spectrum children as a single mom (though lovingly gives a shout out to her best friend, editor and soulmate whom she considers the bees knees). Is it any wonder her website’s tag line is One Voice Many Paths? Seriously, look up the definition of a multi-tasking Mama and you will find her picture there. But when it comes to living a life of connection, faith and consciousness Shira is the gal to call — or if you’re fresh out of Mallomars — she’s always happy to give you one. For more information visit: ShiraAdler.com, read her blog at Diva-Mama.com; Social: Twitter (1DivaMama), Facebook (DivaMama1), Tumblr (not really sure, but the name is cute) and LinkedIn (because doesn’t everyone?).

Support MamaBlogger365 and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011! Your tax-deductible donation in ANY amount will help us make our September POP-UP exhibit in NYC a permanent reality – visit our Members page to learn more.

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
