MamaBlogger365 – The Trip Home by Kim Jennings

The trip home has me thinking about what home is. Is it a physical place or a state of being, dependent upon the people around you who give you a feeling of safety and security?

Do you need both in order to be home?

I recently stayed with friends during a quick trip down to Austin, Texas. Similar to me, they are married, have a small house on the outskirts of the city. They have one child. And when I was with them, I already felt “home.”

As the sort of person who welcomes new experiences in new places, it’s such a blessing to go to a new place and instantly feel like you could be “home.”

And yet, what home means for me is probably quite different than it is for my 7-year-old son. So I got to thinking about what I’ve learned about stability, and what it means to provide stability for a family. My folks were pretty traditional in how they raised us – they still live in the same home they bought some 30-odd years ago when I was just 3 months old. My dad had the same job for as long as I can remember, and my mom stayed at home with the eight kids until the last one was in school. They created stability, in the sense of the word, and a lot of it was prefaced upon the stability of location. And as a result, my worldview has always been fairly traditional in that sense. I’ve traveled a bit, but have never lived outside of Massachusetts.

Our world is changing, isn’t it? People marvel over the fact that I’ve been at the same job for more than 10 years. And even though my worldview has been traditional for some time, my life is not my parents’ lives – I work full time in corporate IT, have an active side business as an independent musician, and my husband is a stay-at-home dad. For now. And somehow we got comfortable in these roles – it’s been this way for more than three years.

But now, change is on the horizon – particularly for my husband – and we have to be flexible, prepared to adjust to what happens when something you work for and want for years starts to really take shape and become reality.

What if my husband has to leave for months at a time?
Will we have the support we need to keep all of our lives intact?
What if we have to move?
What’s important to each of us and how do we ensure that we focus on that?
How do we create home no matter where we are?
How will our little guy adjust?
How do we make it still feel like “home” in the midst of change?

I’d love to know how you’ve handled big changes. What are your answers?

Bio: Sitting still has never been easy for acoustic/indie/folk singer-songwriter Kim Jennings. A singer, piano and guitar player for years, the songwriting bug only bit her in 2007. Not three years later, Kim released her debut CD “My Own True North,” co-founded the indie record label “Birch Beer Records” with fellow singer-songwriter Dan Cloutier, and launched the We Support Local Music blog along with the “I Support Local Music in Massachusetts” Facebook page.

Named to Metronome Magazine’s Top 20 Hit List for 2010, and voted Best Female Vocalist in the 2010 Worcester Music Awards, Jennings keeps a busy schedule, performing as often as she can and running her record label. Not bad, considering that in her “free time” she’s also a full-time working soccer mom.

Keep up with Kim Jennings and her musical projects at
www.kimjenningsmusic.com
, www.birchbeerrecords.com, and www.we-support-local-music.com.

Support MamaBlogger365 and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011! Your tax-deductible donation in ANY amount will help us make our September POP-UP exhibit in NYC a permanent reality – visit our Members page to learn more.

Photo credit: Floral Wreath On A Red Door by Andrew Schmidt

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
