MamaBlogger365 – In Tribute, by Shira Adler, Diva Mama

Five years ago I cried, sang and officiated at my grandmother’s funeral. And this weekend, on a cloudless, magnificent day in Southern California, I cried, sang and officiated for her partner of sixty-five years… my beloved grandfather.

I’d like to pay tribute to the most authentic, honest, and wonderful character I have ever known and will ever know, my grandfather Calvin Goodman.

I use the word character because in the truest sense Grandpa was a character, like someone out of the movies, only he was more real, more genuine and more dimensional than any matinee idol could ever hope to be.

When I think about Grandpa’s character I think about honor — how he honored his wife and his children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren. How he honored the clients he cared for and loved so much and how he honored the knowledge he carried in his amazing brain, by guiding, advising and connecting to all of us, giving us the best part of him freely and with unlimited love.

Eight months ago Grandpa was already slipping. Even so, I sat with my children at Grandpa’s table and he sang “Minnie the Moocher” better than Cab Calloway ever could and I marveled at his resilience, his style, and his brilliance. I knew then what could never slip away was his indomitable spirit, his charm and his magnificent personality.

Rarely in my life have I known anyone who could offer support, guidance, connection and unconditional love like Grandpa. He was the truest form of love I’ve experienced in my life so far.

Character isn’t something defined by what you say, but by what you do. I’m proud to say this one-of-a-kind character was my grandfather. Our last remaining connection to the great generation who defended this country against unspeakable tyranny, raised families, and made something of themselves.

But Calvin Goodman did even more. He made something of everyone around him. He made us his priority and in so doing, created a legacy that will live on long into the future.

I love you Grandpa, and I always will.

BIO: By day Shira Adler is a cantor, spiritual vocalist, certified pastlife regressionist, voice-over artist, producer, performer, writer/blogger and mompreneur and by night… well, she is actually the same person at night though she does admit to wearing fuzzy socks when no one can see her and hiding a secret stash of Mallomars somewhere near her writing desk for those late night pick-me-ups. In, around, and between her various work activities, she is raising two beyond-the-spectrum children as a single mom (though lovingly gives a shout out to her best friend, editor and soulmate whom she considers the bees knees). Is it any wonder her website’s tag line is One Voice Many Paths? Seriously, look up the definition of a multi-tasking Mama and you will find her picture there. But when it comes to living a life of connection, faith and consciousness Shira is the gal to call — or if you’re fresh out of Mallomars — she’s always happy to give you one. For more information visit: ShiraAdler.com, read her blog at Diva-Mama.com; Social: Twitter (1DivaMama), Facebook (DivaMama1), Tumblr (not really sure, but the name is cute) and LinkedIn (because doesn’t everyone?).

Support MamaBlogger365 and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011! Your tax-deductible donation in ANY amount will help us make our September POP-UP exhibit in NYC a permanent reality – visit our Members page to learn more.

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
