MamaBlogger365 – Doing the Best We Can by Kim Jennings

For the second night this week, I am at work past 8 p.m. With an hour-plus commute, here’s yet another night I won’t be home for family time.

I chose this career in information technology ten years ago, when IT was the place to be. I wanted to build things, I wanted to make software, I wanted to create solutions that would make people’s jobs so much easier…

I wanted a career that was meaningful, where I did meaningful work, at a meaningful company. And I have all of that. I’m one of the lucky ones. I’ve made people smile. And I feel great about what I’ve done.

The thing is, things change. I have competing priorities now. I have work, and in a crisis, they need me. I also have a family — and in a crisis, they need me. too. Try as I might, I just can’t be in two places at once.

I missed soccer practice again today. And I feel awful about it. And yes, I know, I don’t have to be SuperMom and make it to Every. Single. Thing. But still. This is something I want, and I am having a hard time figuring out how to get it.

It takes time. Patience. Perseverence. Belief. Hard work. Commitment.

Commitment to me. To what I know is right for me.

I am stretched… and I am doing the best I can. We all are, each in our own way.

I think I can, I think I can, I think I can…

Bio: Sitting still has never been easy for acoustic/indie/folk singer-songwriter Kim Jennings. A singer, piano and guitar player for years, the songwriting bug only bit her in 2007. Not three years later, Kim released her debut CD “My Own True North,” co-founded the indie record label “Birch Beer Records” with fellow singer-songwriter Dan Cloutier, and launched the We Support Local Music blog along with the “I Support Local Music in Massachusetts” Facebook page.

Named to Metronome Magazine’s Top 20 Hit List for 2010, and voted Best Female Vocalist in the 2010 Worcester Music Awards, Jennings keeps a busy schedule, performing as often as she can and running her record label. Not bad, considering that in her “free time” she’s also a full-time working soccer mom.

Keep up with Kim Jennings and her musical projects at
www.kimjenningsmusic.com
, www.birchbeerrecords.com, and www.we-support-local-music.com.

Support MamaBlogger365 and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011! Your tax-deductible donation in ANY amount will help us make our September POP-UP exhibit in NYC a permanent reality – visit our Members page to learn more.

Photo credit: Time Is Ticking by Petr Kratochvil

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
