MamaBlogger365 – Unconventional Thinking by Shira Adler, Diva Mama

After officiating a sumptuous Bat Mitzvah at the Trump National Golf Club in Briarcliff Manor Saturday, my honey and I enjoyed a lovely night out like a real couple, seeing the new Aaron Sorkin/Steve Zaillian-scripted, Brad Pitt starrer Moneyball at the local Bedford Playhouse theatre.

Typically, the only movies I don’t enjoy are horror and sports-themed, but with a cast that included the aforementioned Mr. Pitt and one of my all-time favorites, Philip Seymour Hoffman, I felt it was worth checking out. Based on the true story of Oakland A’s GM, Billy Beane, and brilliantly directed by Bennett Miller, who received a nomination in 2005 for Capote, this very special film is worth seeing, whether you like baseball or not.

Moneyball is about how unconventional thinking can give birth to leadership and greatness. By far the highlight of the night was getting to watch this film about seeing things differently with two of the most different thinking, influential, and outstanding public figures of our time. Yes, folks, I’m talking about the sitting Secretary of State, Hillary Rodham Clinton and her just-fresh-from-the-golf-course-with-Obama husband, president William Jefferson Clinton, who happened to be camped-out four rows in front of us on the aisle (not that I was staring).

I spotted them first and my babe didn’t believe me. Literally, I think Bill’s still-perfectly-coiffed white hair was glowing in the almost darkness. We found out for sure it was them when honey went to question why the lights hadn’t been turned all the way off after the previews and discovered three Lacoste-clad secret service agents standing guard at the back door keeping a watchful eye on this far from high-risk crowd. I’m not usually star-struck in that giggly-semi-stalking kind of way. After all, my first pulpit was in a star-filled congregation in Malibu, CA, and both my honey and I work in the “industry” so we are not typically prone to episodes of unadulterated giddiness when seeing famous celebrities.

However, Hillary and Bill aren’t simply celebrities, they are two of my heroes. Hillary, especially, whose public life and policy have always kept her at the forefront of women’s rights, is considered, among many other monikers, “a pop feminist icon.”

In that way, she reminds me of another mover and shaker, my friend Joy Rose, the President of Mamapalooza, whose vision birthed the Museum of Motherhood, now open in NYC’s upper East Side on 84th & First Ave.

So when the lights came on and the film ended, honey and I did the one thing we could do under the circumstances; we followed Bill and Hillary out the back door and walked with them to the street. And when the Secret Service pulled up the cars I made my move.

Perhaps it was because the Museum was on my mind, or simply because I thought a built-in affinity for the subject-matter existed with Madame Secretary, that after shaking hands with President Clinton I stuck my head into the waiting car which Hillary had already entered and said: “Madame Secretary, I’m sorry to intrude but I wanted to let you know that the brand new Museum of Motherhood just opened in NYC and it would be wonderful if you could check it out. It’s a very important place.”

Dear God, do secret service men attack plucky women with purple handbags who brazenly stick their heads in the open door of Hillary and Bill’s car? Thankfully I didn’t have to find out. Hillary responded with a warm and wise smile: “That’s wonderful! Of course!”

For God’s sake, it’s not like Palestine didn’t apply for statehood the day before! But, if there is anything I believe in, it’s the power of this woman’s dedication and commitment to mothers. Though she runs the State Department and truly has the weight of the world on her shoulders, in that moment I felt she was, and always will be, one of us.

So, let this be an open invitation Madame Secretary, and staff, to visit the Museum of Motherhood and perhaps even come on the day I am leading my monthly Divas-do-Lunch workshop, where women connect, share and explore their inner D.I.V.A. (Divinely Inspired Vigorous Attunement). Madame Secretary, if you lend your support to this incredible institution and all that it stands for, once again, you will be demonstrating the power of unconventional thinking and the greatness of your leadership.

And I for one, will proudly be standing by your side as another constituent, another voter, and most importantly, another mother.

Bio: By day Shira Adler is a cantor, spiritual vocalist, certified pastlife regressionist, voice-over artist, producer, performer, writer/blogger and mompreneur and by night… well, she is actually the same person at night though she does admit to wearing fuzzy socks when no one can see her and hiding a secret stash of Mallomars somewhere near her writing desk for those late night pick-me-ups. In, around, and between her various work activities, she is raising two beyond-the-spectrum children as a single mom (though lovingly gives a shout out to her best friend, editor and soulmate whom she considers the bees knees). Is it any wonder her website’s tag line is One Voice Many Paths? Seriously, look up the definition of a multi-tasking Mama and you will find her picture there. But when it comes to living a life of connection, faith and consciousness Shira is the gal to call — or if you’re fresh out of Mallomars — she’s always happy to give you one. For more information visit: ShiraAdler.com, read her blog at Diva-Mama.com; Social: Twitter (1DivaMama), Facebook (DivaMama1), Tumblr (not really sure, but the name is cute) and LinkedIn (because doesn’t everyone?).

Support MamaBlogger365 and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011! Your tax-deductible donation in ANY amount will help us make our September POP-UP exhibit in NYC a permanent reality – visit our Members page to learn more.

 

Visit the Museum of Motherhood

NOW OPEN in NYC!

 

Comments
One Response to “MamaBlogger365 – Unconventional Thinking by Shira Adler, Diva Mama”
  1. Joy Rose says:

    Shira – With friends like you, the Museum Of Motherhood is sure to succeed! You are a spitfire and for that my dear, and for your kindness, beautiful gifts of healing and generosity – we are all better for it!

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
