MamaBlogger365 – Don’t Put if Off by Kim Jennings

Looking back at the advice my future self gave to my current self, the 2nd thing I wrote was: Don’t put it off.

Put what off? How do I figure out what it is I don’t want to put off? How do I find the time to figure out what it is? Why is my head suddenly spinning out of control?

All very good and important questions.

It’s overwhelming to be reminded of the messages that life is fleeting, and you never know when you’re going to have a scare, or that one moment that takes it all away.

I’m living it too. I’ve recently been taking stock of my own life, not for any health issue that’s particularly life shattering, just a reminder of a small heart murmur that occasionally gives me pause from time to time. I look at my 7-year-old son, and as I think about that high school reunion looming on the horizon, I wonder when it was that I blinked for so long that that many years have gone by, in an instant. And I don’t want to wake up in 20 years having missed it all. But change is hard, big change, life-altering change… and it’s frightening too. At least, it is for me. I want to spend more time with my family, and still keep music going, and still work too. There aren’t enough hours in the day. A big, scary, unsolvable problem, right?

What’s helping me? An awareness mantra I learned from a good friend and mentor. I repeat this to myself every morning. “How am I showing up today?”

It’s hard to do this EVERY DAY. But, it’s just a tiny little thing. If yours is just a tiny little thing too, then it can be done. And it can be done every day. Besides, no one in their right mind starts training for a marathon with a 26.2 mile run every day.

It’s just a start, but that start has gotten me to lots of different insights. I notice when I am tickled pink. Let’s do more of that, please and thank you. I notice when I am pissed off, which helps me to identify what I can change (and notice who and what really pushes my buttons). It forces me to stop spinning.

I’ve been doing this for the better part of a year now. And the things I have learned have become the fuel for the next leg of the journey. The journey isn’t going to come to me.

And now I am finding that not putting it off starts with awareness and forgiveness. If I want to spend more time with my family, what has to change? How can I pay attention to that? Where do I start? And when I flail or even fail, how do I pick myself up and keep on going?

How am I showing up today? How am I showing up right now?

Overnight success does NOT happen overnight. The messages are there, everywhere. Show up today – don’t put it off.

Bio: Sitting still has never been easy for acoustic/indie/folk singer-songwriter Kim Jennings. A singer, piano and guitar player for years, the songwriting bug only bit her in 2007. Not three years later, Kim released her debut CD “My Own True North,” co-founded the indie record label “Birch Beer Records” with fellow singer-songwriter Dan Cloutier, and launched the We Support Local Music blog along with the “I Support Local Music in Massachusetts” Facebook page.

Named to Metronome Magazine’s Top 20 Hit List for 2010, and voted Best Female Vocalist in the 2010 Worcester Music Awards, Jennings keeps a busy schedule, performing as often as she can and running her record label. Not bad, considering that in her “free time” she’s also a full-time working soccer mom.

Keep up with Kim Jennings and her musical projects at
www.kimjenningsmusic.com
, www.birchbeerrecords.com, and www.we-support-local-music.com.

Support MamaBlogger365 and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011! Your tax-deductible donation in ANY amount will help us make our September POP-UP exhibit in NYC a permanent reality – visit our Members page to learn more.

Visit the Museum of Motherhood
NOW OPEN in NYC – Tues.-Sun., 10:45-6:30

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
