MamaBlogger365 – The Unique Qualifications of Motherhood by Kate Fineske

WANTED. A caring, flexible and compassionate team player willing to work in a sometimes chaotic and always changing environment. Ideal candidate would be able to work variable hours including (but not limited to) evening, weekends and early morning shifts. All applicants must have a good sense of humor and be familiar with basic first aid. Extensive (and often exhausting) on-the-job training provided.

The Ideal Parenting Job Candidate

When my husband and I decided to start our family, I was ready. I wanted so badly to land the job of mom. I knew, if I was able to secure this job, that I would be the ideal candidate…

To Whom it May Concern:

I am currently seeking a position in motherhood. I am a hands-on, results-oriented person whose strengths lie in my exceptional ability to be both creative and organized.

Attached you will find my resume detailing the specifics of my experiences and accomplishments that should qualify me for the job.

Sincerely,
Kate

WAIT.

Experiences? Accomplishments? Qualifications?

Oh no! I had none of these before I became a mother! What was I thinking applying for a job in the “parenting profession?” How could I possibly have believed that I was an “ideal candidate?”

Yet, unbelievably, I still “got the job.”

I took one giant leap of faith as I entered into my new career of motherhood.

And what I realized (and continue to realize) during my on-the-job, sink or swim mom training, is that the job of parenting – like any other job – can provide us with qualifications and experiences that most people might not have had before working in the “parenting profession.”

I now believe, in order to be a mother, the ideal parenting candidate doesn’t need experience, accomplishments and qualifications. Instead, what one needs, is to be open to change and the possibility of change. Because, in the profession of parenting, change happens daily and without fail.

Kids grow. Stages alter. Life happens. And there is always more than just yourself to think about when you take on the job of parenting.

Building “Parenting Experience”

Everything evolves. Everything changes. And as a parent, I’ve often found that beliefs I once held firm to can be wiped away in seconds after ANY new experience.

Motherhood – above anything else – IS an experience.

A life-changing, eye-opening, resume-building experience.

OK. Life changing, eye opening – sure. But resume building? Really?

When I “applied” for my job in motherhood I didn’t do it to build my resume. Yet the experiences I’ve gained in the “parenting profession” are unique and invaluable skills that I feel should give me a leg up on other job applicants if I were to apply for any other job.

  • I’ve learned more about time management and effective multi-tasking than I ever thought possible.
  • I’ve discovered the significance of building my listening skills, increasing my patience, and effectively communicating.
  • And most importantly, I’ve grasped that there are often multiple good solutions to one problem (which in turn increases my ability to effectively problem solve.)

Am I wrong? Aren’t these all valuable skills for any job? Then throw in my 6+ years of volunteer leadership experiences with my local Mothers Center chapter and suddenly I have a very complete and solid resume!

A New Perspective on an Old Resume

When I took on my new job as a mom, I occasionally worried that my professional resume would get old and dusty.

What I didn’t realize, was that the parenting skills I’ve gained during my nearly 9 years of experience as a mom could actually add to my resume and ultimately to my contributions to society.

There is a new perspective that is often overlooked by employers on resumes – the “maternal perspective.” This is a perspective on life that is unique to only moms. A maternal perspective that we, as moms, can use to make an even greater contribution to the workforce or towards society in general.

Sure, when I became a mom:

  • my “office” changed location,
  • my professional “duties” changed drastically
  • and of course I got a totally different boss (a very demanding little boss!)

Yet on the flip side, when I became a mom, I gained a greater sense of empathy, altruism and compassion.

Could we as mothers (and parents alike) use this new-found perspective and in turn teach some of these positive maternal characteristics to others? Isn’t this “maternal perspective” beneficial (and shouldn’t it be sought after?) in today’s workforce and community?

Parenting has got to be one of the hardest jobs in the world. When I “applied” for my position as a mother, little did I know how much the job would change me for the better.

Working moms, WAHM (work-at-home moms), SAHM (stay-at-home moms) – we have one qualification that no one else has: our maternal wisdom and perspective. Maybe, just like the ability to incorporate a good GPA into our resume, parents should feel they have the added benefit of incorporating the skills they learned in parenting into their resumes?

WANTED: A caring, open-minded, compassionate team player with an unsurpassable work ethic. The ideal candidate would be able to lead AND listen to others while remaining flexible to change and open to mistakes. All applicants must have the ability to offer non-judgmental responses and effectively communicate to people of all ages in all stages. Job offers extensive experienced-based training and unlimited opportunities to further ones “professional” education.

Now there’s a “Want Ad” that I aim to be fully qualified for.

So, what’s on your resume? What qualifications have you gained from parenting that might be added to your “professional” resume? Do you think you have acquired a unique perspective on life due to the experiences, accomplishments, and qualifications you’ve gained as a parent?

This post has been contributed on behalf of The National Association of Mothers Centers, whose mission is to create a community of women, who through mutual support and public advocacy, explore, enrich and value the maternal experience.

The post author, Kate Fineske, currently is a staff member with the National Association of Mothers’ Centers where she maintains and provides the content to the Mothers Central Blog – the Parenting Blog of the NAMC. She is also responsible for helping the NAMC work to build stronger connections and support with the local Mothers’ Center Chapters nationally.

Kate is a longtime member of the National Association of Mothers’ Centers through her local chapter of the Mothers’ Center of Greater Toledo in Ohio. She and her husband are busy raising 3 children ages 1-8. Kate’s professional background is as a graphic designer in the creative and education industry. Since 2005, she has been using her professional skills by actively volunteering with the Mothers’ Center of Greater Toledo in various leadership positions. She also blogs personally at http://www.onthegomomma.net.

You can connect with Kate via Twitter (@katefineske) and/or also connect with the NAMC via twitter (@MothersCenters) or Facebook.

Support MamaBlogger365 and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011! Your tax-deductible donation in ANY amount will help us make our autumn POP-UP exhibit in NYC a permanent reality – visit our Members page to learn more.

Visit the Museum of Motherhood
NOW OPEN in NYC – Tues.-Sun., 10:45-6:30Photo credit: jeltovski|MorgueFile

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
