MamaBlogger365 – Motherhood in Mind by Sarah Dawn Lenox

Over the course of the year, we’ve often read about re-framing motherhood, with the assumption that we are free to do that. But when it comes right down to it, how much of the mothering we practice comes down to doing it “our way” and how much is simply circumstance, either by pure chance or as the result of decisions we made years ago, not necessarily with motherhood in mind?

When I think about decisions like the education I’ve attained and the career I’ve pursued, I realize just how much I wasn’t thinking about motherhood when I made those choices, some of which could have lent themselves then toward a more mom-friendly lifestyle now. But, that’s water under the bridge, as they say, I guess.

Am I happy? Yes. Would I make different decisions about those things if I had to do it over again? Mmm, maybe. I do know one thing though. I’ll certainly encourage my children to think big-picture as they make college or career plans, regardless of whether or not their plans include parenthood, so that they have the most firm foundation possible for whatever their futures entail.
Bio: Sarah Dawn Lenox is the mother of three.

Support MamaBlogger365 and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011! Your tax-deductible donation in ANY amount will help us make our autumn POP-UP exhibit in NYC a permanent reality – visit our Members page to learn more.

Visit the Museum of Motherhood
NOW OPEN in NYC – Tues.-Sun., 10:45-6:30Photo credit: mconnors|MorgueFile

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
