MamaBlogger365 – Making a List by Jennifer Flaten

MamaBlogger365 contributor Jennifer Flaten’s given up on Christmas cards, but doesn’t mind if you haven’t…

This time of year, the only writing I am doing involves lists. Either I am helping the kids write their lists to Santa or I am writing my Santa’s helper list. Not to mention all those gift tags…

That’s okay; it is fun. I love this time of year and even though our area remains without snow (and it’s raining today), I still have the Christmas spirit. I have to; I have kids. When you have kids, it’s mandatory that you have the Christmas spirit.

Although I admit sometimes, the Christmas spirit is very loud, as the kids are belting out yet another version of Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer on the drive to school.

While I am writing lists, the thing I am not writing is a Christmas letter or even a Christmas card. I’ve never done a Christmas letter, and I stopped sending Christmas cards a few years ago.

I know that sounds terribly Grinchy of me, but here is why:

First, it was getting to be a little expensive between the cards and the postage, and that was when I stopped sending the cards a couple of years ago. Since then, it’s only gotten more expensive.

Second, I admit that email killed my Christmas card list. I keep in regular email contact with everyone important to us. We exchange weekly or sometimes daily emails, so a Christmas letter would just tell them something they already know.

Still, even though I don’t send Christmas cards, I do enjoy receiving them.

Bio: Jennifer Flaten is a Wisconsin-based writer with three small children who understands the delicate balance between home and work. She knows having a healthy, happy family is a priority, and with that in mind, she has a special interest in health, family and technology. Her works have been published in the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel and at various online journals.

Support MamaBlogger365 and help the Museum of Motherhood secure a permanent home in 2011! Our end-of-year giving campaign is going on NOW! – visit our Members page to learn more.

Visit the Museum of Motherhood
NOW OPEN in NYC – Tues.-Sun., 10:45-6:30Photo credit: menstatic|MorgueFile

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
