MamaBlogger365 – Chocolate Waffle Sandwich by Becca, Gravity Bread

Today’s guest post is shared by Becca from Gravity Bread, where she blogs about love, food, family and ways to encourage language through mealtime:

I decided to make chocolate waffles one morning to try something different. The waffles were really good by themselves but wanted to turn them into something special the next morning. I love using my panini press. In my mind, any sandwich is better pressed! Nothing like a sandwich crusty on the outside and gooey in the middle. You can do this with any waffles and put anything in the middle. For this particular sandwich, I put Nutella, banana and strawberry jelly inside. Since the waffles were chocolate (but no overpowering, have a faint taste of cocoa), I thought the Nutella would compliment the waffles. The waffle sandwich was gooey, sweet and crunchy. I got the original waffle recipes from here at allrecipes.com. I didn’t make the hard sauce to go with it. I created a sandwich instead.

Child Friendly Tips: Have your child add all dry ingredients together. They can whisk the egg mixture together. Have them help you pick out the fillings and assemble the sandwiches. You can even make “mini” sandwiches and pick all different fillings such as different types of jelly, various spreads or even marshmallow fluff :)

Language concepts can include sequencing, describing, expanding vocabulary, discussing dry vs. wet ingredients, temperature (cold vs. hot), shapes (waffles have square shapes but the actually sandwich is a moon shape), colors, categories (banana is ____, eggs are _____), inferencing, problem solving, answering “wh” questions and actions. You can even work on literacy by printing out pictures of all of the ingredients, typing out the words and having your child match the word with the ingredient.

Here is how I made this chocolate waffle sandwich:

Ingredients

Waffles1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup white sugar
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup 1 % milk (or any milk you want)
2 eggs
4 tablespoons butter, melted
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1 tablespoon of coffee (if its not for the kids!, definitely optional)Filling
1/2 banana sliced
strawberry jelly
Nutella

Preparation

1. Preheat waffle iron.

2. In a large mixing bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, salt, sugar and cocoa. Use a whisk and if there are little clumps put it through a sifter or fine mesh colander.

3. In a separate bowl, whisk milk, eggs and butter until mixture is smooth.

4. Add egg mixture to flour. Mix until moistened.

5. Add to waffle iron and make waffles.

6. When finished with waffles, cut in half. Spread jelly, Nutella and place banana pieces on top. Top with remaining half or waffle. Put in put in panini press.

7. Enjoy!

 

About Becca and Gravity Bread:

Having my own personal struggles during mealtime with my two young children, I decided to venture on a new project to help my children and myself make mealtime more fun and educational. As a speech language pathologist, I felt the need to help other parents struggling with the same issues.  As a working mom, I found it very challenging to cook, watch my children, keep them focused on their food and have a relaxing meal.   Growing up, I had dinner every night with my family. Todays busy families don’t often eat together. The inherent design of Gravitybread helps create more valuable mealtimes for families. Research indicates that children who eat together with their families perform better in school, tend to be thinner, are healthier and have better communication skills. It gives families the opportunities to talk and have longer conversations. It also gives the opportunity to explore new foods and model appropriate behaviors, such as how to eat specific foods and how to sit during mealtime.

I found that cooking and learning about food can be such a useful, functional and language enhancing experience. Being a “foodie” myself, I wanted to pass on this knowledge to my children so that they can enjoy, respect and love food the way that I do.

This piece originally appeared on GravityBread.com; reprinted with Becca’s kind permission.

Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
