MamaBlogger365 – Yesterday and Tomorrow: Prioritizing Fitness as a Parent by Kate Fineske

“Yesterday you said tomorrow.”
~ Nike Ad.

It is Sunday evening, my feet hit the pedals and… I am off!

The warm breeze on a sticky, hot day flies by, providing even more motivation to keep on going. A million thoughts about yesterday, today, and tomorrow haphazardly travel through my mind – thoughts that move far faster than my bicycle and much too fast for me to deeply focus on any single one.

However, it doesn’t really matter that I can’t find a deep focus for my thoughts, because at any given moment I will likely have my thoughts interrupted to discuss the birds in the air, the plane that just flew by, or maybe another ‘ar (Translation:  “car”) because…

My toddler is in tow behind me in our bike trailer.

Yesterday: Prioritizing Me

Yesterday I made the decision that I needed to make more time for fitness and health in my life.

I’ve made it one of my life’s missions to keep my kids active and eating healthy – yet somehow I often forget to do the same for myself.

Lately, I’ve felt my energy starting to wane. I’ve noticed a slight shift in how my clothes fit. And I’ve become even more aware of the physical toll my body has paid due in part to my daily grind. (Not to mention my on-and-off-again diet of easily-eaten-on-the-go food and late night snacks as “make-up meals” when I forgot to feed myself.)

However, prioritizing and finding an extra hour or two for fitness and healthier eating habits is not as simple of a task as one might think for a parent. It can sometimes be hard to concentrate on yourself when so many other people and things depend on you.

  • My kids flash their smiles (and occasional screams) but regardless need my parenting
  • Work calls to wrap up a project or requires me to put together a lesson plan
  • Projects I am volunteering for need tending to (before it is too late!)
  • And sleep… well, if there is any lesson learned after having babies it is the importance of sleep

But prioritizing myself… How does that fit in?

Tomorrow: Multitasking at Its Finest

So, It is 7:30 p.m. on Sunday evening, and yesterday I made the commitment to better prioritize fitness, except…

I have yet to fit it in.

As my husband mows the lawn, my two older children play a neighborhood game of kickball, and I play with my youngest (who is not quite ready for bed, yet is starting to get cranky) in the back of my mind I know with absolute certainty that:

When 8:30 p.m. rolls around (my toddler’s bedtime) I will never have the energy left for a high-speed bike ride.

So I make the decision to do what I do (and what many mothers do) best (and out of necessity):

Multitask.

I snatch my bicycle (plus a sippy cup, toddler snack and small toy) and ride off “into the sunset” with my somewhat unfocused, haphazard and occasionally interrupted thoughts, my toddler in tow, and a feeling of pride that I made myself find the time to focus on my own fitness goals.

One step closer to my fitness and health objectives.

And one step closer to becoming a master of multitasking (I’m not certain if I should be proud of that) as my bike ride becomes a picture of motherhood multitasking at its finest:

—> Biking. Providing a fun activity for my Toddler. AND Blogging (since I wrote half this post in my head during my ride).

Leave a Comment. How do you manage to schedule your own health and fitness needs into your busy life? As a parent, is it possible to avoid multitasking? (Because so far, I find multitasking impossible to dodge!)

=

This post has been contributed on behalf of The National Association of Mothers Centers, whose mission is to create a community of women, who through mutual support and public advocacy, explore, enrich and value the maternal experience.

The post author, Kate Fineske, currently is a staff member with the National Association of Mothers’ Centers where she maintains and provides the content to the Mothers Central Blog – the Parenting Blog of the NAMC. She is also responsible for helping the NAMC work to build stronger connections and support with the local Mothers’ Center Chapters nationally.

Kate is a longtime member of the National Association of Mothers’ Centers through her local chapter of the Mothers’ Center of Greater Toledo in Ohio. She and her husband are busy raising 3 children ages 1-8. Kate’s professional background is as a graphic designer in the creative and education industry. Since 2005, she has been using her professional skills by actively volunteering with the Mothers’ Center of Greater Toledo in various leadership positions. She also blogs personally at http://www.onthegomomma.net.

You can connect with Kate via Twitter (@katefineske) and/or also connect with the NAMC via twitter (@MothersCenters) or Facebook.

 

The Museum Of Motherhood is the first and only facility of its kind, celebrating the “her”story of mothers around the world. We need your help — please make your tax-deductible contribution today! Visit the Museum of Motherhood, NOW OPEN in NYC – visit MOMmuseum.org for hours, directions and today’s schedule of events.
Leave a Reply

  • Contact: MamazinaMagazine@gmail.com

  • Call To Order Mamazina: 877.711.MOMS (6667)
